Nitish Kumar, the president of Janata Dal (United), has resigned from his position as chief minister of Bihar following days of conjecture. He had severed his links to the Mahagathandhan in order to defy the incumbent administration, citing “not everything was alright.”

Nitish Kumar said at Raj Bhavan in Patna that his party has chosen to cut relations with the Mahagathbandhan, which is made up of the Congress and the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), when he submitted his resignation to Governor Rajendra Vishwanath Arlekar.

Following his resignation as chief minister of Bihar, Nitish Kumar stated he had requested the governor dissolve the state government. Nitish Kumar informed reporters outside Raj Bhavan, “Today, I have resigned as the chief minister and I have also told the Governor to dissolve the government in the state.”

“This predicament arose because not everything was in order…I was receiving views from all sides. I paid attention to each one. “We have decided to sever ties with the Mahagathbandhan in the state,” Nitish Kumar informed the governor of Bihar. “Today, the government has been dissolved.”

When Nitish Kumar resigned as chief minister in 2022 and joined the Mahagathbandhan alongside Lalu Yadav’s RJD, the Congress, and the Left parties, he severed his relationship with the NDA.


Until a new government is established in the state of Bihar, Nitish Kumar will serve as acting chief minister.

In order to stake claim to form the next coalition government, the BJP is expected to provide JD(U) and Chief Minister Nitish Kumar with its “Letter of Support.” The ceremony to take the oath is probably scheduled at 4 p.m.

After taking the oath of office as chief minister, Nitish Kumar is reportedly going to select new ministers from the BJP as well.


Nitish Kumar is probably going to rejoin the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) after splitting from the governing coalition.

With 79 MLAs, the RJD is currently the only party with more members than the entire 243-member Bihar Assembly, but it is not quite halfway there with 122.

There were 159 MLAs in the Mahagathbandhan administration. Eight MLAs are needed for the Mahagathbandhan to claim the right to form the next Bihar government following Nitish Kumar’s defection.

With 78 MLAs, the BJP continues to be the second-largest party, behind the Congress, which has 19 MLAs.